Chaumont’s grounds are a relatively recent creation compared to the history of the Château itself. In 1880, Henri Duchêne, landscape architect (1841-1902) began creating the grounds. The plans drawn up involved a radical transformation of the site in favour of vast so-called “English-style” leisure grounds. The work was carried out between 1884 and 1888. Completion of the project provided the Château with the sumptuous setting it deserved and had previously lacked. Moreover, the grounds contain various constructions, workshops and attractive features: the reservoir, also known as the “water tower”, the picturesque or “rustic” bridge and the dog cemetery.